Summer Vacation Mode

Truth be told, vacation mode kept us apart for a while there. So, it’s the exact same vacation mode that will bring us together once again. You guessed it, list of vacation movies, the perfect goodbye to the good times. Or probably a slightly depressing choice if you’re going back to work/school. But I’m going for the bright side of things and guessing some sunny and fun films will just bring up nice vacation memories, instead of making you feel you should just quit whatever you’re doing and become a nomad (Nothing against nomads, I’d become one if I found a gentle way to break it down for mum).
These are a series of unbelievably succinct considerations about half a dozen of movies, in no particular order. In case you wish for a full review, pick a movie and leave that in the comment box bellow (not doing it for the comments. Oh, who am I kidding).

Adventureland (2009)

If you have yet to watch American Ultra (I can identify with that), I suggest you go back to the good old days when Jesse and Kristen used to run amusement park rides or games, or whatever. And perhaps thank the universe for not giving you a summer job summed up in kid’s vomit.
Truth be told, I always found Adventureland to be incredibly depressing, there’s just something so baffling about Kristen Stewart banging Jesse Eisenberg on a terribly lit room… Yet, every time this glorious sequence of weird teenager affection pops up on TV I can’t help but put aside anything possibly productive and just rewatch the all thing.

Stand By Me (1986)

“I never had any friends later on, like the ones I had when I was 12.”

Stand By Me is the epitome of all junior summer adventure movies. That one coming-of-age story that will leave you wishing you had the balls to have done something similar to this journey when you had limitless energy to follow railway paths. They find themselves and you will most certainly find your own self in one of them, guaranteed, or I’ll get you your money back.

Any Steven Spielberg Project That Involves Visiting Some Sort of Park

Dino or Shark fan, Steve’s got you covered. Just summon half a dozen of your closest friends and marathon through some Jurassic Park or Jaws, and be thankful for the lame water park you go to every year or just plain depressed because, for some reason, they have yet to come up with a way to bring back some dinosaurs, we all know how that one ends and, still, I’d totally buy a ticket.

Any Woody Allen Movie Featuring a City on It’s Title

Seriously, your pick. It’s quite impossible to go wrong with something Woody decide to make, even if the movie is sponsored in a shady way by the same city featured on the title, who cares. Every Woody Allen movie is 10 times best than your shitty guilty pleasure, so (I have shitty movies as guilty pleasures too, we’re working on a support group).
I’ll just leave two here, then. Not Woody’s best work, I believe, but we’re talking holiday time here.

To Rome With Love (2012): Jesse Eisenberg, once again (I’m detecting a weird pattern here, perhaps my unconscious self wants to interrail with Eisenberg or something. Buddy, in case you’re reading this, I’m in), and Ellen Page. It’s weird, and adorable. Adorably weird. And who doesn’t love Rome?

Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008): Penélope Cruz, Scarlett Johansson and Javier Bardem, that spanish fiery passion and loads of wine and cooking, for some reason. And who wouldn’t love to have paella with those three?

The Endless Summer (1966)

I’m pulling out all the stops here and bringing in some documentary power. If you actually own a surf board and haven’t watched this, do it. If surfing isn’t really your thing, maybe it’s time to change your mind. Join Bruce Brown from one coastline to the next in this wonderfully shot summer piece. The closest you’ll get to smelling the ocean, without actually smelling it.
It’s old, I know. Maybe you won’t find out why there’s all this fuss about The Endless Summer, or maybe you’ll love it (I had a friend making me watch this and it was way better than I expected, and I cannot stand on a surf board for more than 11 seconds, I’ve counted).

Friday the 13th (1980)

Let’s be honest, no vacation would be complete without a trip to summer camp. This is just another story on how a guy named Jason helped his buddies make the most wonderful summer camp memories. Perfect sleepover movie.

That’s it, for now. If you feel we left your favorite holiday movie out of the picture, just leave a comment bellow. If you completely disagree with this list, go ahead and type something. Tell us about your experience with the movies on the list.

Leave a Reply

