Movie Splash

Swimming is normal for me. I’m relaxed. I’m comfortable, and I know my surroundings. It’s my home.

The Olympic Games have been on for a while and it would be quite unorthodox not to prompt some sort of sports related post. The truth is that I’m no sports movies expert, actually, I know/have watched few of those. Not necessarily zero, but few. I’m not sure why, there are some good sports movies, it just never happened.

My ultimate favorite sport in the world is Swimming. I thrill on trials close to as much as I freak about the World Cup. I’ve seen Michael Phelps swimming the Olympics and not get any medals (yep, that’s possible). I have a long list of favorite swimmers. I curse at a shitty turn like a football/soccer fan curses at a shitty referee. I gesture like my excitement could possible influence a swimmer’s performance. I smile at unexpected wins from the new guy or the underdog. I laugh whenever Ryan Lochte laughs because I already know something idiotic must be going on. I sure can spare a few tears whenever I know a favorite swimmer peaked and it’s just downhill from there.

I don’t know about you, but on my sweet, lovely home country, no fucks are given about swimming. So, everyone thinks I’m insane by getting thrilled at watching someone repeat the same stroke back and forth, back and forth, back and forth… Because the rest of the sports world is so rational after all. Anyways, let’s get to the point. I don’t think I’ve ever witnessed a swimming movie. Which is pretty weird, come to think about it. So, I got browsing…

The Swimmer (Frank Perry, 1968)
A classic, perhaps the classic of this obscure genre, focusing on the now dated suburban-exotic fetish of the back-yard pool. Based on a John Cheever short story, this strange and intriguing film stars Burt Lancaster as a guy who, finding himself poolside in the house of a neighbor sets himself the task of swimming back home in all the backyard pools that stand between him and his house. And each pool discloses a secret about himself, his neighbors and his past. A richly sensual film.
(The Guardian)

Swimming Upstream (2005)
This is the inspiring true story of Tony Fingleton. Tony comes from an unhappy home and has never won the love and pride of his father (played by Geoffrey Rush). When Tony shows extraordinary talent as a swimmer, he finally feels that he has a legitimate chance of winning over his stubborn father’s heart.
(audioflood.com)

Pride (Sunu Gonera, 2007)
Straight to video in the UK for this inspirational sports movie, which is notable in that it points up the wholesome, non-sexual side of swimming. Terrence Howard plays a determined guy who starts a swim team for the troubled and wayward young people in Philadelphia in the 1970s, a time in which racism was overt. It’s a by-the-numbers film, but interesting and valuable in that it’s a reminder of the days when the segregated swimming pool was the symbol of the ugliest racism.
(The Guardian)

nOSyi73NJ7DxfOvFbNnTpDDsq02

… and I found a decent amount of movies somewhat related to swimming, these are three of them in case you want to join on me on this, and I think I’ll be watching some of them during the next few weeks.
I truly want your opinion on them and some suggestions. Feel free to shower this post with some swimming meets Hollywood, or Bollywood, or Randomwood (that sounds weird) type stuff.

Which sports are you most excited about for Rio 2016? Do you like swimming? Are you a swimmer? (If your answer is yes and your name happens to be Nathan Adrian or Adam Peaty or Kathleen Ledecky, leave your email on the comment box bellow)

Leave a Reply

