The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: An Unbeatable Sense of Wonder

Beautiful things don’t ask for attention.

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is a movie that turned out way better than I was expecting. You can question how this guy with a standard boring life can skate downhill like a pro or start dressing all cool without a shopping sequence, you can question many things on The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. Except for its sense of wonder. Which is incredibly on point.

I’ll be honest. I love Ben Stiller. I have such a weak spot for this guy I can even thoroughly enjoy Zoolander. Every time he sets his mind into directing something I’m just left wondering what the fuck is he going to come up with next.

This movie is not particularly cohesive but we can all identify with Walter at some level. And that’s probably what makes it so great. I’m as nuts as that guy, so I can totally see myself in Stiller’s character. Besides, it looks freaking great, it’s inventive and absolutely breathtaking. So, I’m totally in.

But, I’m actually posting more on soundtrack duty, as weird as it may seem. And The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: Original Motion Picture Score is one of the most uplifting albums you can pick up. An incredibly proper dreamer’s type of thing. It’s such a nice group of compositions I had to share it. Theodore Shapiro is the man behind the notes in case you wish to check out some more of his work.

Also, I’ve been obsessing over Stay Alive from José González for the past two days and I’m not ashamed of it.

I’m thinking about creating some playlists on Spotify for all the movie nerds out there, not that there’s a shortage on the supply of playlists on Spotify for all the movie nerds out there or anything, but there’s always room for one more. What do you think?

Also, would you like me to have a proper mumble about this movie on The Critic? Let me know.

So, are you also a hopeless adventurer? Tell us more about your dream trip.

 

