Boyd Holbrook & Random Artistry

Just like that, an honest man blinked.

It’s no random act of chance the fact that I’m writing about Boyd. Let’s just call him Boyd for the sake of yours truly sometimes not being sure if Holbrook doubles the “l” or the first “o”. I don’t know why that seems more logic to me, but it just does. Besides, Boyd is an awesome name. So, Boyd it is. #NODISRESPECTTOHOLBROOK

Narcos. I’m obviously writing this because of Narcos. I don’t watch many TV shows, mostly because I just don’t have the time. Not trying to play someone with a life, but it’s pretty hard to manage so much literature and film already. Sometimes you just have to pick your battles. But I do watch Narcos. Faithfully and with full on cerebral arousal, like a boner, just processed solely by your brain, a brain boner. I couldn’t give two fucks about Wagner Moura‘s terrible paisa, I’m fully invested in this. That’s where Boyd shows up.

To be perfectly honest, I had no idea who Boyd Holbrook was before Narcos, not even by the end of the first season did I care. But, hey, it’s not like he knows me either, so we’re even, bro. He was mostly a mustache. (A fine mustache sure, that guy can grow some solid facial hair) And I just got lost in all the Brazilian talent, I know the dynamic of the show is about these two, but we all know it’s mostly about Pablo. (I don’t know what’s my thing with first names today, Pablo, like I went to college with him or something, my buddy Pablo) Anyways, then Boyd went Bad for Diesel, I saw his beard in some shop window, and it just crossed my mind «Wait. I know that hint of a mustache.». Then I forgot about it. Then I heard the trailer for the second season of Narcos on a coffee shop, the ones where you go to get coffee not weed (not that I have anything against weed consumption, it’s just so you get a clear picture), because a group of strangers was watching it on an iPhone, and it just crossed my mind «Wait. I know that voice. Hold on. Idiot. You know that plot, it’s Pablo.». (Yes, I usually have two voices in my head arguing, leave a comment if that happens to you too) So, to sum it up, general consumerism / capitalism put Boyd in my path very vaguely and I felt this uncontrollable urge to get to know what the hell has this guy done with his life up to this point, the point in which I could hear him on a random summer afternoon from an iPhone speaker two tables across. It’s practically the start to your everyday love story.

You know, I have this odd flash obsessions. Those times when you find something that ignites your curiosity and for I don’t know how many weeks you must learn everything you possibly can about it.  That’s my life. With practically all things. So, naturally, that includes actors, directors, cinematographers, screenwriters, authors in general and all that creative jazz. So, when I’m curious about an actor, I’ll just go through his filmography, until I’ve watched it all or I just get bored of it. So, this is not a post about Boyd Holbrook’s body of work, because from that I’m just familiar with Narcos, this is an invitation. For you all to join me in this healthy, temporary obsession for this guy. Probably starting with a rewatch of the great Milk and tearing it up until we reach The Host, because we all need to breath between shitty movies.

I also found out he’s way more than just an actor, straight from Wikipedia you already know he’s also a director, a model, a producer, a sculptor, a photographer, a carpenter, a songwriter, a poet… I think we might as well just list whatever the fuck he hasn’t done so far. Besides, I stumbled across this interview from The Film Experience and he seems like an awesome dude. So, for the month of September we’re going on a full Boyd Holbrook craze and may God help us all.

4 thoughts on “Boyd Holbrook & Random Artistry

  1. God am I obsessed with this show. To me Wagner Moura and Pedro Pascal are the starts of the show but that’s just my own opinion. Boyd Holbrook definitely brings a lot to the table as well, I’m just not the biggest fan of his character. Great read. I can’t wait to see what Season 3-4 will be like. Are you by any chance sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms at the moment?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Firstly, I’m glad you enjoyed reading this little post. Thanks! 🙂
      I agree on the Moura&Pascal thing, they’re my favorite as well, especially Pedro Pascal in the second season. I chose to talk about Holbrook because he’s the one in the trio I know less about. Therefore, I’m pretty curious on what brought him to this.
      I share my writing in Portuguese in a couple more platforms. And I write mostly about culture, especially film. In case you’re asking if I share work on film or television, I do, but not as a writer/blogger.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I definitely wasn’t too familiar with Boyd Holbrook too so it was interesting to find out more about him. Well, if you’d be interested in sharing your work elsewhere, I’d be more than happy to introduce you to Moviepilot/Creators. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you’d like me to expand on that. You can find my contact details on my blog. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

