Rogue One: They Are One With the Force

We have hope. Rebellions are built on hope!

I just got back from watching Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and I’m on the verge of tears just from typing that. Again, I just got back from the movie, so this entire post might be quite sketchy, messy and overall questionable and not thought through. (And I might come around to clarifying it on a second post) But, I couldn’t keep myself from writing about it. Because Rogue One is absolutely perfect.

That will probably be a slight exaggeration in a couple days, when I’ve thoroughly digested this entire piece of cinematic wonder. But, for now, and immediate reactions also count as valuable reactions, i’m going for perfect. I actually thought about not typing on this movie at all, because I was so surprised by how good it is, maybe I wouldn’t do it justice. That’s how crazy it got to. So, yes, you should go see Rogue One. There, I won’t leave that advice for the end of this thing. Go. Watch. It. Now. Drop all you’re doing and, for the love of Star Wars, go watch this thing.

Rogue One (2016)

You all know how I can be quite judgmental on sequels, prequels, remakes, reboots and such. How I categorically reject them from the get go, if I feel they’re just there to milk never ending rivers of cash for everyone that decides to get on board, case in point George Lucas and his forever young crew. Rogue One just slapped me right across the face. Because I didn’t believe in it, I had no hope for it. I thought it was going to be just one more Star Wars for a new generation to dump its money on. And it is, don’t get me wrong, I’m not that mental that I would reject the notion that these people are trying to make a lot of money from this, but it also is so much more, thank the Force.

Rogue One was enough to throw the entirety of Star Wars to a new perspective. A greater perspective. So, even if I was oblivious to that, it was necessary. And it performed its part wonderfully. For a never ending flood of reasons.

This Star Wars story is not about the Skywalkers. Crazy, hey? That’s the thing. Rogue One shows you with great efficiency how this entire thing is bigger than Leia, Han Solo, Darth Vader or even Luke Skywalker (you all know Luke is my favorite, this order was expected). The rebellion. It’s bigger than them all. The political message of this film is so strong, especially considering the present mankind faces, but it comes out with such ease you can’t help to feel overwhelmed by it.

And overwhelmed I was. I smiled through the entire thing like an idiot. (It’s OK, no one sees anyone else though the 3D shades) The references are on point, yet quiet enough for the movie to stand on its own. The plot is so masterfully tailored, the shots so well planned, it looks and feels like real Star Wars, the original Star Wars, Star Wars Star Wars, to an extent no other movie besides the original three got even close to. The Force Awakens is light years away from this movie.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story(Donnie Yen) Ph: Film Frame ©Lucasfilm LFL
Rogue One (2016)

All is mended through Rogue One. The cast is diverse and absolutely wonderful, they all fit their characters so beautifully you couldn’t bring yourself to change a thing. And that diversity comes so naturally, it doesn’t stink of forced political correctness, it stinks of real intergalactic, a bunch of people coming together from all over the universe, cooperation, real actual life, real people. No one pushes a barely believable romance or a gratuitous fight scene, all is friendship, all is harmonious,  all serves the story. Thank the Force we’ve got some more women pilots on those X-Wings too.

It’s great in its simplicity, much like the original Star Wars. The plot isn’t an out of this world tricky combination of metaphorical scenes. It’s simple. Easy. Fun. Powerful. Like Star Wars once was. And it fits, at first sight (I haven’t thought all the connections through yet), with the rest of the movies so gracefully, no loose ends, no crafty explanations, it looks borderline impossible. But it is possible and it was done with humble, ingenious care and awesomeness.

Rogue One is the Star Wars Story we’re looking for.
The Force is with them and they are one with the Force.

Folly

Leave a Reply

