Every Movie I Ever Loved – A List That Never Happened

What we do in life echoes in eternity.

I was thinking about lists to get into this post. Back to school flicks, summer movies for the last sunny days, action packed dilemmas to go with Jason Bourne. All the movies I’d love to watch but just haven’t. All the 80’s classics I recommend, because that’s just the best decade ever. All the guilty pleasures a true movie connoisseur (lol) never admits to. And, go figure, I just made a list of all the lists I could make.

List making is indeed a struggle of mine. I throw my organizational skills out the window and let them rote in the street for 90% of the year. But, then come some weeks in which I go though every calendar I can get my hands on, because lists prompt up some sort of life change, the very typical I’m going to get my shit together. We never really do.

That’s probably because there’s no need to, your system is not broken, it’s just not meant to be perfect, because nothing is. In a society built on YouTube tutorials to make the most of your bullet journal, it scares me a little how much we seem to be addicted to planning. And how little we actually get done.

Speaking of Youtube, I was patrolling Randomvideoland, as one does, when I came across this excerpt from an interview with Russell Crowe for BBC Radio 1 about Gladiator. He basically describes how batshit crazy the process of coming up with a plot for the movie was. These guys managed to make one of the best, most quotable, movies in the history of movie making, when they just had twenty one pages to start with and leaped into the artistry of winging it. Screw The Poetry of List-Making. You’ll survive without a list. You’ll thrive without a list. Don’t go chasing stationery. You don’t need a list. You are the list.

Now, go check some boxes.

2 thoughts on “Every Movie I Ever Loved – A List That Never Happened

  1. Thanks for posting that interview with Russell Crowe – it’s always interesting to see what goes on behind the scenes in film making. I can’t imagine starting production on a movie with only 21 pages in the script, but that’s why Ridley Scott is a highly-paid professional, no?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment